Barbados will remain with CCJ, says new prime minister

Barbados’ first female prime minister, Mia Amor Mottley, being sworn in at Government House on Friday. (C. Pitt/BGIS)

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados — Barbados will remain as a member of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), incoming Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said on Friday, adding that the CCJ represents “one of the best examples of independence” in a court across the entire globe.

Asked by the media to give her views about the CCJ, shortly after being sworn in as the island’s eighth prime minister, she stated the government she was a part of in 2005 had worked to establish the court.

“I had as attorney general the responsibility for chairing the preparatory committee; I went the length and breadth of the Caribbean, selling the Caribbean Court of Justice, from Jamaica in the north right down to Guyana in the south.

“Barbados perhaps has one of the largest number of cases in the appellate jurisdiction and Barbadians as a rule have seen their rights being protected by the Caribbean Court of Justice and we, therefore, are a strong proponent of it. It is not an immediate drain on the Treasury because of the manner in which we established it through the Trust Fund. And secondly, it is insulated because it is only the president of the Caribbean Court of Justice who is appointed by the heads of government and that is by unanimity. The other judges are appointed by the regional Judicial Legal Services Commission,” she stressed.

Mottley identified the CARICOM Single Market and Economy and LIAT as some of the areas that would be engaging her attention over the coming weeks. Noting that Barbados was the single largest shareholder in LIAT, she stressed that there were issues relating to the airline that had to be confronted within the next few weeks.

She added that Barbados was serious about CARICOM and a team would be attending the upcoming CARICOM heads of government meeting in Jamaica.

Meanwhile, a public swearing-in ceremony for the new Cabinet was held on Sunday.

New Members of Cabinet 2018

Mia Amor Mottley, QC, MP – Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment

Dale Marshall, QC, MP – Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Santia J.O. Bradshaw, MP – Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training and Leader of Government Business

George W. Payne, QC, MP – Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development

Ronald St. C. Toppin, MP – Minister International Business and Industry

Senator Dr Jerome X. Walcott – Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

Trevor A. Prescod, MP – Minister of Environment and National Beautification

Cynthia Y. Forde, MP – Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs

Kerrie D. Symmonds, MP – Minister of Tourism and International Transport

Dr William F. Duguid, MP – Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance

Lt. Col. Jeffrey D. Bostic, MP – Minister of Health and Wellness

Edmund G. Hinkson, MP – Minister of Home Affairs

Dwight G. Sutherland, MP – Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce

Wilfred A. Abrahams, MP – Minister of Energy and Water Resources

Ryan R. Straughn, MP – Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Marsha K. Caddle, MP – Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs

Cheryl Sandra V. Husbands, MP – Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade

Colin E. Jordan, MP – Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations

Charles McD. Griffith, MP – Minister in the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development

Adrian R. Forde, MP – Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment

Kirk D.M. Humphrey, MP – Minister of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy

Indar A. Weir, MP – Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

Peter R. Philips, MP – Minister in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance

John A. King, MP – Minister of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports

Senator Kay S. McConney – Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology

Senator Lucille C. Moe – Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs

Senator Dr. Romel O. Springer – Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Tech and Vocational Training

Neil G.H. Rowe, MP – Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs

Ambassador Dr Clyde Mascoll – Chief Economic Counsellor to the Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment

Ambassador Dame Billie Miller – Ambassador at Large and Ambassador Plenipotentiary



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.